Think Big Write Easy

tbseIn this post I was supposed to write about how to conduct a time audit, but something big got in the way. I went to New York, this weekend, to attend a Think Big Speak Easy event by Michael Port. Let’s just say that if you want to improve your presentation skills in any format: writing, performance, speaking, etc… he is “The guy to call when you are tired of thinking small.”

Which got me thinking. I never thought of myself as a public speaker. The weight of fear is so heavy that it presses on me from every side, and I feel like I am in a straight jacket. The funny thing about a straight jacket is that it is not at all what it seems. We think straight jackets are meant to protect us from hurting ourselves, but this type of straight jacket protects us from being ourselves. Wow. Never knew that before.

I watched him work with three very different types of speakers, and saw him bring out the essence of their spirit in the talk that each woman gave. I guess it is true that “how you do anything is how you do everything.”

Which got me thinking more. Who am I? Why do I believe the fear I feel is right and I am wrong? If I do what Michael Port suggests, and leave all of the excuses, blocks, carefully crafted jewels of lies in the hotel room back in New York, then Who am I and what does that say about how I view my time here on this earth?

Do I have a purpose? An important message to share with the world? If yes, then is it to acknowledge that I see you and you see me? ( I mean really see behind the masks that we present to the world) Is it to create, to make better, to support, to improve, to share, to love? All of those things? Something more than those things?

I don’t know, but like I said in an earlier post, we have 86,400 seconds to walk our talk each day. I was thinking of Anna in the movie, Frozen. She says, “The sky is awake, so I am awake — I have to play.” Well said, Anna.

What do we do with the time given us? Michael Port asked the audience, “What do you stand for?” I couldn’t answer, because the words were stuck in my throat. But I could stand in unison with those who were able to speak their truth. Maybe my role here is to be a witness to the greatness in others. To support their courageous acts of authenticity with a high five, prizing them for the qualities that make them uniquely themselves; and in so doing, perhaps, I can do the same for myself.

Next time, I will write about the time audit protocol. Protocols are like recipes, if you change them you get a different result. But if you follow the recipe, you can get something really amazing — maybe even big!

Thanks for reading.

Until then,

photo(22)

Leave a Reply

