Hello. I am Christine 5.0

50l-badge-jpg_100175915_mThere has been a lot going on in my life, recently. We had a state tournament, we had belt testings, a weapons testing, a college graduation, birthdays, thank- you gifts to buy, going away parties, graduation parties, a website to get going, a blog to continue, a business to start, poetry to write, some serious health concerns about loved ones, — whew — and all of it, combined, is just a small piece of me. I feel that I am so much more than the sum of my experiences and activities. Do you feel that way?

If each decade had a theme, then this decade would be the fifth version of me. This version, I think, is the best version so far, because it is the closest I have come to the real me. I no longer worry if someone thinks it’s weird that I study economics for fun, love Disney movies, paint illuminated manuscripts. Nor do I care whether they approve that I practice Taekwondo for its strength and beauty even thought it hurts a lot, sometimes. I can spend the day watching children play, because their spirits in action are the best we see in ourselves, I think. I can listen, and be fascinated by the beautiful lives people unwittingly reveal to me. Most of all, I can accept that while I speak better than I used to, I still have a way to go until I feel that I can fully express myself in a language that others can relate to and understand.

I think I am in such a state of gratitude these days, because it is finally making sense. I just finished Joseph Campbell’s book, A Hero With A Thousand Faces, and came away with a better appreciation of the struggles we all face coming to terms with the life that has been given us. One of my favorite quotes of his echoes the theme of this post, “The privilege of a lifetime is being who you are.”

So I am wondering about you? What version are you and what gifts are you sharing with the world? I bet there is a whole world out there just waiting for you.

Thanks for reading, and until next time,

photo(22)

http://www.amazon.com/Thousand-Faces-Collected-Joseph-Campbell/dp/1577315936

Leave a Reply

