Momentum matters.

imageThis momentum thing keeps coming up like a weed, an alarm, a baby’s cry…it is like the Energizer Bunny that keeps going and going beating its little drum as it moves…

I keep noticing, like the color of a car I just bought, that I have trouble keeping enthusiasm, motivation and energy focused on the task at hand. A task, by the way, that I chose for myself as being important and meaningful.

I wonder if momentum is the flipside of procrastination?

What strikes me, so much, about this concept is that it is one of the key ingredients in any recipe for success, yet we rarely address it head on. We come about it from a negative way, as in “Stop procrastinating.” Instead of, “Where do I find a good, strong earthquake to get this snowball rolling?”

If we don’t have momentum, we stall, we stagnate, we become distracted, we look for other places to put our attention and our care. It reminds me of Newton’s first law of motion: “Every object in a state of uniform motion tends to remain in that state of motion unless an external force is applied to it” I guess that also applies to the momentum fueling our actions.

So what about this momentum thing anyway? How do I get more of it, and command it when I need it?

Momentum is derived from the Latin word movere meaning to move.
1. In Physics, it is the quantity of motion of a moving body, measured as a product of its mass and velocity or
2. The impetus gained by a moving object.
“the vehicle gained momentum as the road dipped”
or the impetus and driving force gained by the development of a process or course of events.
“the investigation gathered momentum in the spring”

Ok, thank you, Google.

Now, I am wondering if the momentum equation used in physics, Mass x Velocity = Momentum, could be applied to emotions a la Chip Conley’s book, Emotional Equations??

Here is what I came up with as a working equation for momentum: Purpose x Motivation = Momentum

So, if Mass is represented by purpose and Velocity is represented by motivation, in order to figure out which of the two is playing havoc with my momentum, I need to define what purpose and motivation are to me.

That seems like an awful lot of work to figure out why I can stop dead in my tracks writing, for example, this blog post. Just when it starts to get really good, I step away from the keyboard. Interesting, no?

What if I could make it easier to keep momentum in my back pocket, and not have to do a deep dive into my psyche? I could just hack some momentum and be on my merry way. I wonder…

So for the next week that is what I am going to do. Try to find or develop some major hacks to keep momentum playing on Team Christine. In the meantime, do you have any tricks, tips or hacks to keep momentum on your side?

Thanks for reading.

Until next time,

photo(22)

Leave a Reply

