Am I A Yet, Yet?

Dr.

Hmmm….

 

I have spent the better part of two days trying to upload a picture and write this post. How appropriate it is that I am writing on the topic of completion. Completion as in being finished! Caput! Done! Finito! I have succeeded! Yay, me! I am a Yet! Maybe “Yet” can be a Dr. Seuss rhyme?

 

 

“The Tale of Yet”
By a Not Yet Yet

All of the Not Yets wanted to become Yets
But the already Yets said, “You are not ready to be Yets yet!”
So the Not Yets set down a plan
To become Not Yets that certainly can.
They toiled and they worked. They worked and they toiled
Till one day, much to their surprise, the “Not” in their “Yet”
Disappeared right before their eyes.
Now everyone is a Yet don’t you see? But all of the Yets have now became WEs!

Nothing like a good Dr. Seusssesque rhyme to get your brain working.

All of this silliness leads to the question of measurement. What’s your measurement for success? And when do you decide that you have succeeded? When you get paid? When you are able to do a jump 360? When you send off that project or wake up for another day pain free? When are you a Yet, yet?

This idea has come up in several of the coaching conversations I have had in the last month. Come to find out, measurement is a tricky beast! The answer centers partly on some quantifiable measure, but the other part centers on the time frame in which we expect to be done.

One of the most powerful tools I found on this topic is Carol Dweck’s concept of “Yet”. In a nutshell, if we don’t decide an outcome as a success or failure within a certain time frame, but rather, we describe it as a process of completeness, a whole lot of needless suffering is kicked to the curb.

If failure is just feedback, and not some confirmation that we are …(You insert the negative self talk), then the question of success centers on goal completion, and not on the time in which we think it “should” take for us to complete it. Period. End of story.

I know. I get caught up in that trap, too. I think I “should” have mastered it, finished it, got it done, yesterday, like this blog post. (I find that, at times, I look for opportunities to do beat myself up like that) But if I use the methodology of Yet, I discover that I am a Yet when I decide to hit “Publish” on this post, and not a failure because I didn’t hit publish yesterday.

Carol Dweck’s Tedx lecture is enlightening and helpful for those of us who have elementary school aged children at home. For those who want to hear the lady speak for herself, the link is below:

 

 

Until next time,

photo(22)

 

 

Leave a Reply

