Do You or Don’t You

DecisionsThe funny thing about a dilemma is that it narrows your choices down to a binary decision Examples can include:  1)This way or that way. 2) Right or wrong. 3) Yes or No.  Sometimes that works great, for example, when you say, “NO” to eating those 4 extra Oreo cookies. Your peace of mind, and your butt size thanks you. But what if your choice is harder than what to eat or what not to eat?

The other day, I was talking to a friend about this very topic. She needed to make a decision, but was not sure whether to say “yes” or “no.” One of the greatest tools I have learned from Tony Robbins is the principle of taking a choice and converting it into options. When you add another category to your decision making that includes other possibilities, your dilemmas turn into options.

For example, do I have the 4 extra Oreos, because they are so yummy and I like to savor the crunchy goodness in my mouth? Do I say, “NO” to the extra cookies, because it is more important that I fit into my skinny jeans? Perhaps, I can eat 2 cookies tomorrow and  2 cookies the next day, thus hitting my minimum quota of 2 cookies? Do I figure out the caloric equivalent of the 4 cookies and exercise my rear end off so that I can eat them today? I could keep going, but I have a feeling you got the point. Options are our friends.

When you turn your yes/no decisions into a field of possibilities, a weight is lifted. Your focus and stress about making a “wrong” decision lessen, because “wrong” is taken out of the equation.This little one tweak can make decision making a whole lot easier.

One of my favorite coaches, Wendy Hart, uses the Easy button analogy to celebrate: Once you’ve gone through your options, and have made a decision, imagine hitting the Easy button – and then saying, “That was easy!” And it was. It’s all in your hands, people. You got this!

Until next time,

 

photo(22)

Leave a Reply

