Do you use a checklist? Do you use one for your life?

Over this past weekend, my girl and I attended a “Girls in Aviation”** conference at the Disney Springs Resort in Orlando. It was over 20 years ago that I exchanged the excitement of flight instruction for diapers, midnight feedings, and the smiles of a beautiful baby girl. Now I was headed back to that world with my youngest to introduce her to the wonderful world of flight. Only she had no interest in becoming a commercial pilot and flight instructor like her mom. She b-lined it to coding, robotics and to the drone zone…of course.

Can you believe it? I couldn’t. I am TRYING to tell her how awesome flying is, and she meets my enthusiasm with a glazed  look, a roll of the eyes and indifference. She just doesn’t know, and that’s okay. I have to accept the fact that until she actually flies a plane, she won’t get it. I love this environment that breathes possibility, and is full of promise. But the coolest thing was to take a mental trip back to a time when I was someone else; and back to a time when  I envisioned a different future for myself. That whole “mind trip”  was well worth the two and half hour drive alone.

First of all, I am a huge fan of Patty Wagstaff – aerobatic pilot queen extraordinaire. She was the key note speaker at lunch, and she put the capital B into the phrase “Bad ass”. She grew up in Japan, learned how to fly in Alaska, and became one of the best aerobatic pilots in the world, AND she flies a really cool plane, too. When I was coming up the ranks, I wanted to be like her. However, the opportunities that existed for female pilots back in the early 1990’s were limited, to say the least, and to have a career with children required some major sacrifices — sacrifices that I wasn’t willing to make. So I gave up my dreams of being an aviatrix, and closed that chapter of my life.

Key Skill. Revisiting my pilot days, however, got me to remember that before every flight, I not only made sure my plane was ready to go, I made sure I was ready to go, as well. You can’t succeed if you operate on the back side of the power curve — this happens when the more power you add in the attempt to gain altitude, actually results in a decrease in altitude. The graphic on the right depicts the concept. Three major things make an aircraft fly: 1. Shape of the wing, 2. Attitude of the plane, and 3. Power.  Some would argue that only one thing will make an airplane fly…MONEY!

Anyway, there is a reason why I brought this up. Operating your life on the back side of the power curve leads to disappointment. You may be doing everything right, but if your attitude ( your mental orientation, the structure of your day, and the time when you act)is not in the optimal position, you will struggle. So what if you had a daily checklist that inspires you and reminds you to make sure you have all of your resources  aligned to ensure a safe, happy, and productive day? Would you be down for learning and using a tool that orients you each day?

********Speaking of orientation, I just finished a free webinar that teaches you the three key tools to use to create a year to remember. If you applied each of the tools I share with you on this webinar, you will be well on your way to making this year something special. You can sign up for it here.

The Point. Checklists not only exist as reminders of what to do, they exist as a way to focus our attention on what’s most important. I am wondering, do you use a checklist? Do you use one for your life? I researched the best practices among my favorite mindset and skill set experts: Tony Robbins, Brendan Burchard, Todd Hermann, and Hal Elrod to name a few.

Since we are all individuals, we may think a little differently. For example, we may use the same words, but they mean something different to each of us. The checklist to the left is blank on purpose. There is a primer in each area of focus to help you think and organize your thoughts, and, thereby, your day in a way that helps you feel your best, and helps you focus your attention on getting your best work done, while still enjoying the flow of your day.

Below are some best practices to help you think about what you want to go on your Pre-Day checklist:

Tony Robbins: Three to Thrive: Gratitude, Movement, and Incantations

Identify the three things you are really grateful for, feel it in your body, and connect to that feeling. Move for 30 to 45 minutes. As you move, talk about the outcomes you want to have happen in your day.

Brendan Bruchard: Productivity Planner:  List the top five action steps to take in each of the following areas: Projects, People and Priorities, and then take action on them.

Hal Elrod: Miracle Morning: Hal researched the best practices of highly successful people and created a formula that not only jump starts your day, but helps you to become happy and successful. (Gratitude, wisdom, movement, reading inspirational works, journaling, affirmations et al)

Todd Hermann: Avoid Context Switching. Focus on one thing that needs to get done in a certain time frame (in this case a day) and get it done.

I hope you enjoy using this checklist, and continue to enjoy the free content that I share on this blog. I do it, because I want to make life easier for everyone. We are so hard on ourselves, at times, and my mission is to help the people who really want to live better lives full of excitement and fulfillment do that faster, easier and in a better way.

Head on over to my website at http://www.challengeyourvision.com for more information about coaching, private martial arts instruction, and my three quick start guides that take you from where you are now to where you want to be.

Thanks for reading, and until next time,

 

 

 

Remember, you are so much more than who you believe yourself to be.

**If you want more information about Women in Aviation, and what they do,  you can click here.

Save

Leave a Reply

